University [https://news.usc.edu/category/university/]

The 33rd Academic Honors Convocation lauds faculty, students

Annual event brings together best and brightest

April 14, 20

The 33rd annual Academic Honors Convocation celebrated stellar USC students, faculty and administrators at Town & Gown.

USC President C. L. Max Nikias presented the Presidential Medallion, the university's highest honor, to Nobel laureate Arieh Warshel, Distinguished



Photo: USC President Nikias congratulates chemist Arieh Warshel. (USC Photo/Steve Cohn)

Professor of Chemistry at the USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences.

Among the night's other honorees on April 8 were University Professor Eileen Crimmins and Distinguished Professors Barry Boehm and Jonathan Samet. Crimmins is associate dean and Edna M. Jones Professor of Gerontology at the USC Davis School of Gerontology, Boehm is TRW Professor of Software Engineering at the USC Viterbi School of Engineering and Samet is Flora L. Thornton Distinguished Chair of Preventive Medicine at the Keck School of Medicine of USC.

Below is a list of the award recipients:

Emma Josephine Bradley Bovard Award

Grace Chediak
Ellen Feldman
Anjlie Anil Gupta
Julia Lazzari-Dean
Mabel Tsui

Kaitlyn Yim

University Trustees Award

Patrick Atchison

Benjamin Diaz

Reid Eric Lidow

Aaron Lieberman

Brandon Martinez Jr.

Adeel Mohammadi

Awadi Rathugamage

USC Provost's Award

Eliza Asherian Mary Hargis Jung-hwa Kang Julia McBeth Mia Zee

Phi Kappa Phi Student Recognition Award

Oriah Amit Ruth Madievsky Matthew Mendez Pu Shi

Phi Beta Kappa Undergraduate Award

Reid Eric Lidow Adeel Mohammad

Rockwell Dennis Hunt Award

Joseph Bebel

University Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Chih-Chieh Hsu Young Ji Kim Simon Radford

University Professor

Eileen Crimmins, associate dean and Edna M. Jones Professor of Gerontology, USC Davis

Distinguished Professor

Barry Boehm, TRW Professor of Software Engineering, USC Viterbi Jonathan Samet, Flora L. Thornton Distinguished Chair of Preventive Medicine, Keck School

Faculty Lifetime Achievement Award

Richard Day, Professor Emeritus of Economics
Walter Fisher
Chester Newland, Duggan Distinguished Professor of Public
Administration
Christopher Stone, J. Thomas McCarthy Trustee Chair in Law,
Emeritus

Phi Kappa Phi Faculty Recognition Award

Nina Eliasoph, associate professor of sociology, USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences Floyd Giles Josh Kun, associate professor, USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism Marvin Nelson, radiologist-in-chief, Childrens Hospital David St. John, professor of creative writing, USC Dornsife Frank Ticheli, professor of composition, USC Thornton School of Music

Provost's Mentoring Award

Tom Lyon, professor of law, USC Gould School of Law, USC Dornsife

USC Associates Award for Excellence in Teaching

Thomas Griffith, professor of law, USC Gould Rob Landel, professor of clinical physical therapy, Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC

USC Associates Award for Creativity in Research

Manuel Castells, University Professor, USC Annenberg Milind Tambe, professor, USC Viterbi

USC Associates Award for Artistic Expression

Robbert Flick, professor of fine arts, USC Roski School of Art and Design

Daniel Pollack, professor of keyboard studies, USC Thornton

Presidential Medallion

Arieh Warshel, Nobel laureate and Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, USC Dornsife About This Site [https://news.usc.edu/about/]